Logo du Conseil de l'Europe 

The Council of Europe is the continent's leading human rights organisation. It includes 47 member states, 28 of which are members of the European Union. All Council of Europe member states have signed up to the European Convention on Human Rights, a treaty designed to protect human rights, democracy and the rule of law.

The European Court of Human Rights oversees the implementation of the Convention in the member states. Individuals can bring complaints of human rights violations to the Strasbourg Court once all possibilities of appeal have been exhausted in the member state concerned. The European Union is preparing to sign the European Convention on Human Rights, creating a common European legal space for over 820 million citizens.

The Council of Europe advocates freedom of expression and of the media, freedom of assembly, equality, and the protection of minorities. It has launched campaigns on issues such as child protection, online hate speech, and the rights of the Roma, Europe's largest minority. The Council of Europe helps member states fight corruption and terrorism and undertake necessary judicial reforms. Its group of constitutional experts, known as the Venice Commission, offers legal advice to countries throughout the world.

Palais de l'Europe, Strasbourg Agora Building, Strasbourg
Palais de l'Europe, Strasbourg
  Agora Building, Strasbourg
 Palais des Droits de l'Homme, Strasbourg  Bâtiment de la Direction européenne de la Qualité du Médicament, Strasbourg
 Human Rights building, Strasbourg 

 European Directorate for the Quality of Medicines
and HealthCare, Strasbourg

My basket