CULTURAL ROUTES OF THE COUNCIL OF EUROPE







AIMS AND VALUES OF THE COUNCIL OF EUROPE CULTURAL ROUTES

The Cultural Routes programme launched by the Council of Europe in 1987 demonstrates, by means of a journey through space and time, how heritage from different countries of Europe contributes to a shared cultural heritage.

The Cultural Routes put into practice the fundamental values of the Council of Europe: human rights, cultural democracy, cultural diversity and identity and mutual exchanges and enrichment across boundaries and centuries. They act as channels for intercultural dialogue and promote better knowledge and understanding of a European cultural identity.

The Cultural Routes preserve and enhance Europe's natural and cultural heritage as a factor for improving the living environment, and as a source of cultural, social and economic development. They promote cultural tourism that fits in with sustainable development.

ACTIVITIES

Through its Cultural Routes programme, the Council of Europe offers a model for cultural and tourism management. Meetings, training courses, seminars and forums are organised on a regular basis to foster exchanges and the development of common, innovative strategies to support cultural and economic development, sustainable tourism and European citizenship.

The Cultural Routes are part of a broad network which allows synergies between national, regional and local authorities and a wide range of associations and economic players.

The programme benefits from effective cooperation with the European Union and leading international organisations.



As of September 2018, there are 33 certified Cultural Routes of the Council of Europe, covering varied themes of European memory, history and heritage while contributing to the diversity of present-day Europe.





32 Member States of the Enlarged Partial Agreement (year of accession):

Andorra (2012) Armenia (2015) Austria (2011) Azerbaijan (2011) Bosnia and Herzegovina (2016) Bulgaria (2011) Croatia (2016) Cyprus (2011) Finland (2018) France (2011) Georgia (2016) Germany (2013) Greece (2011) Holy See (2018) Hungary (2013) Italy (2011) Lithuania (2012) Luxembourg (2011) Monaco (2013) Montenegro (2011) Norway (2011) Poland (2017) Portugal (2011) Romania (2013) Russian Federation (2011) San Marino (2017) Serbia (2012) Slovak Republic (2014) Slovenia (2011) Spain (2011) Switzerland (2013) Turkey (2018)





CERTIFICATION

Certified Cultural Routes are evaluated every three years. New Cultural Routes are certified by the Council of Europe, based on compliance with several criteria:

- Illustrate a theme representative of European values and common to at least three countries in Europe;
- Be the subject of transnational, multidisciplinary scientific research;
- Enhance European memory, history and heritage and contribute to interpretation of Europe's presentday diversity;
- Support cultural and educational exchanges for young people;
- Develop exemplary and innovative projects in the field of cultural tourism and sustainable cultural development;
- Develop tourist products aimed at different groups.

Cultural route of the Council of Europe Itinéraire culturel du Conseil de l'Europe



Certified Cultural Routes (per year of certification):

Santiago de Compostela Pilgrim Routes (1987) Pyrenean Iron Route (2004) Route (2005) Routes of the Olive Iter Vitis Route (2009) European Route of Route (2010) Prehistoric Rock Art Trails (2010) Thermal Towns (2010) Route of Saint Olav European Route of Huguenot and Network (2014) Via Habsburg (2014) Danube Wine Route (2015) **European Routes of** Emperor Charles V (2015) Destination Napoleon (2015) In the Footsteps of Robert Fortified towns of the Grande Region (2016) Via Charlemagne (2018)



STRUCTURE OF THE PROGRAMME

The Council of Europe Cultural Routes programme is based on various pillars:

The Council of Europe defines the policies to be implemented by the programme. Set up in 1949, it is the oldest international organisation in Europe and covers the whole continent. Its 47 member states have come together for the purpose of "safeguarding and realising the ideals and principles which are their common heritage and facilitating their economic and social progress" (1949 Statute).

The Enlarged Partial Agreement (EPA) on Cultural Routes established in 2010 follows the Council of Europe's policy guidelines, decides the programme strategy and awards "Council of Europe Cultural Route" certification. It is open to Member and non-Member states of the Council of Europe aiming at providing political support for national, regional and local initiatives to promote culture and tourism. As of September 2018, the EPA has 32 Member States.

Joint programmes between the Council of Europe and the European Union establish cooperation between the EPA on Cultural Routes and the European Commissions for the establishment of sustainable projects favouring cultural, social and environmental development in Europe.

The European Institute of Cultural Routes (EICR), located in Neumünster Abbey in Luxembourg, is the technical agency set up in 1998 under an agreement between the Council of Europe and the government of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. The Institute advises Cultural Routes already certified, provides assistance to new projects, organises training and visibility activities for route managers and coordinates a university network.

ENG

Council of Europe Directorate General of Democracy F-67075 Strasbourg

EPA on Cultural Routes

European Institute of Cultural Routes Abbaye de Neumünster 28, rue Münster L-2160 Luxembourg Tel: +352 24 12 50

www.coe.int/routes

www.coe.int

The Council of Europe is the continent's leading human rights organisation. It comprises 47 member states, 28 of which are members of the European Union. All Council of Europe member states have signed up to the European Convention on Human Rights, a treaty designed to protect human rights, democracy and the rule of law. The European Court of Human Rights oversees the implementation of the Convention in the member states.

COUNCIL OF EUROPE

